In Georgia, there was significant discussion and media coverage of the distracted driving law that was implemented in July 2018. Because distracted driving is such a worrisome issue, the law was intended to make it easier for law enforcement to stop drivers who they believe are driving distracted. The statistics show that there has been an improvement since the law was passed, but there continue to be crashes and many are believed to be caused by distracted driving.
According to state officials, the law has had a positive effect on road safety. The Georgia Department of Transportation says that, so far, in 2019, there have been almost 700 fatalities. In 2018, there were 1,514 for the entire year. The total for 2019 has been reduced by approximately 2 to 3% from the same point in 2018.
With the new law, drivers are not allowed to text while driving, but they can use their device to get directions. Calls can be made with a hands-free apparatus. If a driver is caught using a device, they will be fined $50 and one point will be added to their driver’s license. For a second offense, the penalty is a $100 fine and two points on their driver’s license. A third offense will result in a $150 fine and three points.
When people are injured in a car accident, it is imperative to determine how and why it occurred and if distracted driving was the cause. Gathering evidence and performing a crash reconstruction are just two ways in which a legal professional can help a person or their family recover compensation. Victims should call a law firm experienced in motor vehicle accidents to help with all aspects of a claim.